Click here to receive updates about the QWF Literary Prize
for Young Writers.

QWF Literary Prize for Young Writers logo


[Montreal. January 23, 2017] The Quebec Writers’ Federation is thrilled to announce that 2017 arrived with something to get excited about: the QWF Literary Prize for Young Writers! The prize is sponsored by Champlain Regional, Dawson, John Abbott, Heritage, and Vanier Colleges and by the Conseil des arts de Montréal.

The prize will be awarded annually to an emerging writer who is a resident of Quebec and who is between 16 and 24 years old, inclusively, as of the contest deadline, June 15, 2017. The prize will recognize the best short story, poem, or work of creative non-fiction written in English and published in an official literary publication in 2015 or 2016. (The two-year eligibility period is applicable only in this, the inaugural year of the prize.)

A three-member jury will select a shortlist of three finalists, who will be named in October, 2017. They will receive tickets to the annual QWF Literary Awards Gala, held in November 2017. On that evening, the following prizes will be awarded:

All three prize winners will receive a free one-year membership in the Quebec Writers’ Federation.

An official call for submissions will be announced on March 15, 2017 and will include detailed definitions of eligibility terms. To be added to our mailing list for that document and others pertaining to the competition, please sign-up for the mailing list.


INQUIRIES:                         Lori Schubert / (514) 933-0878 /

Conseil des arts de Montréal logo      QWF logo
Dawson College logo                 Heritage College logo

John Abbott College logo                Champlain Regional College logo                Vanier College logo