The QWF Literary Awards

2014 QWF Literary Awards Gala

On November 18, 2014, the Quebec Writers' Federation held a literary star-studded cocktail dînatoire, which preceded the Gala. The annual Awards Gala took place at the Virgin Mobile Corona Theatre in Montreal and was sponsored by BMO Financial Group. The event was hosted by celebrated author and founding Artistic Director of Kingston WritersFest Merilyn Simonds. She led the event in a special tribute to “Great Women of Words” Maya Angelou, Mavis Gallant and Alice Munro. QWF’s online literary journal, carte blanche, celebrated its 10th anniversary that night.

Enjoy this video footage of the 2014 QWF Awards Gala by carefulMEDIA.

Many thanks to gala sponsor:

2014 QWF Literary Award Winners

Concordia University First Book Prize
Sponsored by Concordia University
Anna Leventhal
The Sweet Affliction
Invisible Publishing
QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature
Sponsored by Janet and John Blachford
Monique Polak
The Hate Mail
Orca Book Publishers
Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction
Sponsored by Paragraphe Bookstore
Sean Michaels
Us Conductors
Random House Canada
Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-Fiction
Sponsored by Champlain, Dawson, Heritage, John Abbott and Vanier Colleges
Chantal Hébert with Jean Lapierre
The Morning After: The 1995 Quebec Referendum and the Day that Almost Was
Knopf Canada
A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry
Sponsored by Richard Pound, in memory of his brother Robert
Sina Queyras
Coach House Books
3 Macs carte blanche Prize
Translated by Elaine Kennedy and Sheryl Curtis
"It’s Late, Doctor Schweitzer" by Didier Leclair
Quebec Writing Competition prizes
First Prize
Allegra McKenzie
"The Glass Man"

Second Prize
James Dunnigan
"Open Bay"

QWC Reader's Choice Prize
Josée Lafrenière

2014 QWF Literary Award Shortlist

List of Submissions to the 2014 QWF Literary Awards