The QWF Literary Awards

Images from the 2009 Gala
QWF PresidentElise Moser
Helen Fotopulos and Louise Guillemette-Labory
Winner of the Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-fiction and the McAuslan First Book Prize, Eric Siblin.
David Homel and Community Award winner Adrian King-Edwards
QWF board member Anne Lagacé Dowson, holding one of the books that didn't make the shortlist...
2009 finalists for the QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature: Marie-Louise Gay, Monique Polak, and Jane Barclay.
Karen Paquin, carte blanche prize winner Julie Mahfood, A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry sponsor Jacques Nolin and Jennifer Boire.
First prize winner of the Quebec Writing Competition, Kasia Juno Von Schaik.
2009 juror Noah Richler with QWF Executive Director Lori Schubert.
2009 QWF Awards Literary Gala host Stanley Péan.
Finalists and honorable mentions from the Quebec Writing Competition.
Finalist for the A. M. Klein Prize for Poetry, Norm Sibum.

All photographs © Studio Iris.

Many more QWF Gala photos can be viewed on the photographer's web site. To view the whole album, go to, click on "weddings" and then "client login." The password is "qwfgala2009."

The 2009 QWF Awards

QWF Literary Prizes Awarded at Lion d'Or Ceremony

On November 17, 2009, QWF held its annual Awards Gala at the Lion d'Or in Montreal. The event was hosted by Stanley Péan. Six literary prizes, a Community Award, and a Carte Blanche Prize were presented. For the first time this year, the winners and runners-up of the Quebec writing Competition were also presented at the Gala.

2009 QWF Award Winners

QWF Translation Prize ($2000)
Translated to English from French
Lazer Lederhendler
Knopf Canada
translation of
de Nicolas Dickner
Éditions Alto
Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-fiction ($2000)
Sponsored by Champlain, Dawson, Heritage, John Abbott, and Vanier Colleges
Eric Siblin
The Cello Suites
House of Anansi Press
McAuslan First Book Prize ($2000)
Sponsored by McAuslan Brewing Inc.
Eric Siblin
The Cello Suites
House of Anansi Press
A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry ($2000)
Sponsored by Jacques Nolin
Carmine Starnino
This Way Out
Gaspereau Press
Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction ($2000)
Sponsored by Paragraphe Bookstore
Colin McAdam
Hamish Hamilton Canada (Penguin Group Canada)
QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature ($2000)
Sponsored by Babar Books
Monique Polak
What World is Left
Orca Book Publishers
Community Award
Luci and Adrian King-Edwards
The Word bookstore, Montreal
Carte Blanche Prize ($250)
Julie Mahfood
"Changing Winter Tires"
Quebec Writing Competition Prize ($1000)
Kasia Juno van Schaik - First Prize
Anna Leventhal - Second Prize
Karin Zuppiger - Second Prize