Attention publishers: Click here to subscribe to our mailing list.

Save the date!

The 2014 QWF Awards will take place on Tuesday, November 18th in Montreal. Additional details to come.

Thank you go everyone who submitted a book to the 2014 QWF Awards.

See the 95 books submitted to the 2014 QWF Awards by clicking here. The shortlist will be announced in October.

The 2013 QWF Literary Awards

Playwright, novelist, actor and broadcast journalist Ann-Marie MacDonald, host of this year's awards ceremony.
Donald Winkler accepts this year's Cole Foundation Prize for Translation – French to English.
Ken Howe accepts the AM Klein Prize for Poetry.
Author Rawi Hage says a few words about winning the 2012 Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction.
Saleema Nawazaccepts the 2013 Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction.
Paul Blackwell, winner of the QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature.
A juror for the Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-Fiction, Maya Khankhoje read from the jury's comments about the shorlisted books
Adam Gollner delivers his acceptance speech for the Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-Fiction.
Andrew Szymanski, winner of the Concordia University First Book Prize.
View of the audience, with founder of Maisonneuve magazine and the mind behind the awards gala souvenir booklet Derek Webster (left), Saleema Nawaz (background) and author and QWF Vice-President Daniel Allen Cox (right).
Mingling at the cocktail dînatoire!
Author Joel Yanofsky (left) with The Montreal Gazette's Michael Shenker.
Writer Sarah Lolley (left) with mRb editor Mélanie Grondin.
QWF member Peaches.

QWF Literary Prizes Awarded at Virgin Mobile Corona Theatre

On November 19, 2013, in honour of its 15th Anniversary, the Quebec Writers' Federation held a literary star-studded cocktail dînatoire, which preceded the Gala. The annual Awards Gala took place at the Virgin Mobile Corona Theatre in Montreal and was sponsored by BMO Financial Group. The event was hosted by playwright, novelist, actor and broadcast journalist Ann-Marie MacDonald. Six literary prizes, the 3Macs carte blanche Prize, and the winners and honorary mentions of the 2013 Quebec Writing Competition were presented.

2013 QWF Literary Award Winners

Cole Foundation Prize for Translation
Translated to English from French
Sponsored by The Cole Foundation
Donald Winkler
The Major Verbs
Vehicule Press
translation of
Les Verbes Majeur
by Pierre Nepveu
Éditions du Noroît
Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-fiction
Sponsored by Champlain, Dawson, Heritage, John Abbott, and Vanier Colleges
Adam Leith Gollner
The Book of Immortality
Doubleday Canada
Concordia University First Book Prize
Sponsored by Concordia University
Andrew Szymanski
The Barista and I
Insomniac Press: Serotonin/Wayside
A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry
Sponsored by Richard Pound in memory of his brother Robert
Ken Howe
The Civic-Mindedness of Trees
Wolsak and Wynn Publishers
Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction
Sponsored by Paragraphe Bookstore
Saleema Nawaz
Bone and Bread
House of Anansi Press
QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature
Paul Blackwell
Doubleday Canada)
3 Macs carte blanche Prize
Juliet Waters
Quebec Writing Competition prizes
First Prize
Steven Manners

Second Prize
Cora Siré
"Corporate Citizen"

QWC Reader's Choice Prize
Louisa Sage
"The Drought of Eighty-Seven"

2013 QWF Literary Award Shortlist

About the QWF Literary Awards

Every year, The Quebec Writers’ Federation shines the spotlight on the best English-language writers to emerge from Quebec. The QWF Awards include six $2,000 book prizes for Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry, First Book, Translation, and Children’s and Young Adult Literature. The winners of these book prizes, of the 3Macs carte blanche prize, and of the Quebec Writing Competition, are announced at our Gala each year, making it indisputably the most important literary event of the year for Quebec's English-language writers and their readers.

About the 3Macs carte blanche Prize

The 3Macs carte blanche Prize is awarded once a year in recognition of an outstanding submission by a Quebec writer, artist, or translator. The prize is sponsored by Mark Gallop, of MacDougall, MacDougall & MacTier Inc.

Read more about the prize.

Attention Publishers: Click here to subscribe to our mailing list.