About the QWF

The Quebec Writers' Federation (QWF) is playing an increasingly prominent role in the life of the Quebec English-language literary community as an arts presenter and professional and community educator, as well as the representative of Quebec's English-language writers. The diversity of its activities reflects the diversity of its membership. Along with professional and emerging writers, the QWF includes those who have a personal interest in writing and many who have joined because they are interested in high quality literary events, activities and programs. All of these constituents are linked by the QWF vision that works toward ensuring a lasting place for English literature and its practitioners on the Quebec cultural scene.

QWF is a registered charity (14031 9518 RR 0001) with the following legal purposes:

2016-17 QWF Board Members

Executive Committee
President: Daniel Allen Cox
Vice President: Raquel Rivera
Treasurer: David Graham
Secretary: Katia Grubisic
Meaghan Acosta
Janet Blachford
Peter Casey
Bryan Demchinsky
Jeramy Dodds
Susan Doherty Hannaford
Harold Hoefle
Julie Keith
Leigh Kotsilidis
Susi Lovell
Linda Morra
Branka Petrovic
Chantal Ringuet
Greg Santos
Robert Schwartzwald
Deanna Smith

What we do

In order to promote and encourage English language writing and writers in Quebec, QWF is involved in a wide range of activities, publications and programs. They include:

In addition, QWF collaborates with the following programs and partners:

The QWF Awards

Every year, QWF shines the spotlight on the best English-language writers to emerge from Quebec. The Awards Gala, which began in 1988 under QSPELL, has grown into one of Montreal's most eagerly-anticipated literary events, and includes the Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction, the Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-Fiction, the A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry, The McAuslan First Book Prize, the Translation Prize, the QWF Prize for Children's & Young Adult Literature and the Community Award. Past winners include Neil Bissoondath, Anne Carson, Claire Dé, Trevor Ferguson, Sheila Fischman, Elyse Gasco, Taras Grescoe, Rawi Hage, Chantal Hébert, Julie Keith, Adam Leith Gollner, Anna Leventhal, Yann Martel, David McGimpsey, Mary Meigs, Sean Michaels, Saleema Nawaz, Heather O'Neill, Sina Queyras, Mordecai Richler, T.F. Rigelhof, Hélène Rioux, Witold Rybczynski, Neil Smith, Jack Todd, Donald Winkler, and others.

Benefits of membership

QWF members receive:

Major funders

Major funding for QWF comes from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ). We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts which last year invested $37.8 million in writing and publishing throughout Canada. Additional funding is provided by the Canadian Heritage, Conseil des arts de Montréal (CAM), prize sponsorships, membership fees and donations.

Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec Canada Council for the Arts / Conseil des Arts du Canada Patrimoine canadien / Canadian Heritage Conseil des arts de Montréal